# Notice Regarding Public Participation and Heritage Preservation Commission Members/City Staff Attendance Thursday, November 12, 2020 at 5:30 p.m.

Due to the COVID-19 (coronavirus) public health emergency, and in an effort to reduce in-person meetings that assemble large groups of people, Governor Greg Abbott has granted a temporary suspension of certain rules that allows for (1) commission members and city employees to participate in Heritage Preservation Commission meetings via videoconference call or other remote electronic means without a physical quorum of commission members being present at the site of the meeting; and (2) the use of videoconferencing and other remote means to allow the public to observe and/or hear the meeting.

To participate in the meeting via telephone conference call, dial any of the following phone numbers:

(469) 309-4015

(888) 210-1560

**Enter Meeting ID (PIN):** 727372

If you encounter any problems joining or participating in the meeting, please call our help line at (469) 309-4260 for assistance.

A physical quorum of the Heritage Preservation Commission may not be present during the meeting as some Commission Members may choose to participate in the meeting remotely as permitted by Governor Abbott's suspension of various statutes that may be interpreted to require face-to-face interaction between members of the public and public officials.

# A GENDA

A meeting of the Heritage Preservation Commission of the City of Waxahachie, Texas to be held in the City Council Conference Room, 401 S. Rogers, Waxahachie, TX, and via teleconference on *Thursday, November 12, 2020 at 5:30 p.m.* 

Heritage Preservation Commission Members: Becky Kauffman

Glinda Felty Shannon Simpson Peggy Crabtree Curtiss Thompson

Jeff Smith

Whitney Spillman

Planning & Zoning Commission Liaison: Bonney Ramsey

Heritage Preservation Officer: Anita Simpson

City Council Liaison: Mary Lou Shipley

1. Call to Order

- 2. **Public Comments:** Persons may address the Heritage Preservation Commission on any issues. This is the appropriate time for citizens to address the Heritage Preservation Commission on any concern whether on this agenda or not. In accordance with the State of Texas Open Meetings Act, the Heritage Preservation Commission may not comment or deliberate such statements during this period, except as authorized by Section 551.042, Texas Government Code.
- 3. Reorganize the Commission
- 4. Approve the minutes of the meeting held October 22, 2020
- 5. Consider Certificate of Appropriateness for 200 Oldham Street
- 6. Consider approval of renewal HT tax exemption applications
- 7. Consider approval of new HT tax exemption applications
- 8. Comments by Commission members and Heritage Preservation Officer
- 9. Adjourn

This meeting location is wheelchair-accessible. Parking for mobility impaired persons is available. Any request for sign interpretive services must be made forty-eight hours ahead of the meeting. To make arrangements, call the City Secretary at 469/309-4005 or (TDD) 1-800-RELAY TX.

Notice of Potential Quorum

One or more members of the Waxahachie City Council may be present at this meeting.

No action will be taken by the City Council at this meeting.

# **MINUTES**

A meeting of the **Heritage Preservation Commission** of the City of Waxahachie, Texas was held in the City Council Conference Room and via conference call at City Hall, 401 S. Rogers on **Thursday**, **October 22, 2020** at **4 p.m.** 

Heritage Preservation Commission Members present: Becky Kauffman (via phone)

Glinda Felty Shannon Simpson Peggy Crabtree Curtiss Thompson

Jeff Smith

Planning & Zoning Commission Liaison: Bonney Ramsey

Heritage Preservation Officer:

Anita Simpson

City Council Liaison: Mary Lou Shipley

Guests: Andrew Branca, Chelsey Gordon, Michael Scott, Craig Melde, Alexis McKinney

#### 1. Call to Order

Glinda Felty called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.

#### 2. Public Comments

None made

#### 3. Approve minutes of meetings held October 2, 2020 and October 8, 2020

Peggy Crabtree made a motion to approve the minutes of the above meetings; motion was seconded by Shannon Simpson. **All ayes.** 

# 4. Consider demolition permits for 406 S. Rogers Street and 410 S. Rogers Street

Michael Scott gave some background of the process to date and said he is seeking permission to move forward with the demolition of existing buildings and construction of the new city hall annex. He stated that he does not take the demolition of buildings lightly and reminded the commission that all due diligence was done in effort to use the existing historic structure for this project but it did not work. Bonney Ramsey asked how long demolition would take. Actual demo will take approximately two weeks. It has not been decided yet if that will happen first or if it will be done in conjunction with the start of construction. There was some discussion. Curtiss Thompson made a motion to approve the demolition permits requested. Shannon Simpson seconded the motion. Aye votes were given by Peggy Crabtree, Glinda Felty, and Becky Kauffman in addition to those making the motions. Jeff Smith voted nay.

# 5. Consider Certificate of Appropriateness for new city hall annex

Michael Scott thanked the commission for their review and the time they had spent on this project. He and Mr. Melde went over some of the features of the new area which will include close to 90 parking spaces at the back of the building. Glinda asked if there was any further discussion. Becky Kauffman stated that she felt some elements needed to be changed in order to meet the design guidelines but that is

her opinion. Peggy Crabtree suggested putting a plaque or historic marker in the plaza area commemorating what had stood there. Mr. Melde said that was a great idea and it would be done; a cornerstone showing year built will also be incorporated into the property to make sure it is distinguished from our historic buildings. Peggy Crabtree made a motion to approve the COA for the new city hall annex. Shannon Simpson seconded the motion. Aye votes were given by Curtiss Thompson, Glinda Felty, and Jeff Smith in addition to those making the motions. Becky Kauffman voted nay.

# 6. Comments by Commission members and Heritage Preservation Officer

None made

# 7. Adjourn

A motion to adjourn was made by Shannon Simpson and seconded by Peggy Crabtree. **All ayes.** Meeting adjourned at 4:14 pm.

Respectfully submitted by Anita Simpson