A GENDA

A meeting of the Heritage Preservation Commission of the City of Waxahachie, Texas to be held in the City Council Chambers/Conference Room, 401 S. Rogers Street, Waxahachie, TX, on Thursday, March 17, 2022 at 5:30 p.m.

Heritage Preservation Commission Members: Peggy Crabtree

Glinda Felty Becky Kauffman Shannon Simpson Curtiss Thompson

Jeff Smith Michelle Haye

Planning & Zoning Commission Liaison: Bonney Ramsey

Heritage Preservation Officer: Anita Simpson

City Council Liaison: Billie Wallace

1. Call to Order

- 2. **Public Comments:** Persons may address the Heritage Preservation Commission on any issues. This is the appropriate time for citizens to address the Heritage Preservation Commission on any concern whether on this agenda or not. In accordance with the State of Texas Open Meetings Act, the Heritage Preservation Commission may not comment or deliberate such statements during this period, except as authorized by Section 551.042, Texas Government Code.
- 3. Approve the minutes of the meeting held February 17, 2022
- 4. Hear request for reconsideration of approval of tax exemption application for 1404 W. Main from Maelisa Rydholm on behalf of Anna Green
- 5. Consider approval of renewal HT tax exemption applications
- 6. Consider approval of new HT tax exemption applications
- 7. Consider previously tabled HT tax exemption applications
- 8. Comments by Commission members and Heritage Preservation Officer
- 9. Adjourn

This meeting location is wheelchair-accessible. Parking for mobility impaired persons is available. Any request for sign interpretive services must be made forty-eight hours ahead of the meeting. To make arrangements, call the City Secretary at 469/309-4006 or (TDD) 1-800-RELAY TX.

Notice of Potential Quorum

One or more members of the Waxahachie City Council may be present at this meeting.

No action will be taken by the City Council at this meeting.

MINUTES

A meeting of the **Heritage Preservation Commission** of the City of Waxahachie, Texas was held in the City Council Conference Room at City Hall, 401 S. Rogers on **Thursday, February 17, 2022** at **5:30** p.m.

Heritage Preservation Commission Members present: Peggy Crabtree

Glinda Felty Becky Kauffman Shannon Simpson Curtiss Thompson

Jeff Smith Michelle Haye

Planning & Zoning Commission Liaison: Bonney Ramsey

Heritage Preservation Officer: Anita Simpson

City Council Liaison: Billie Wallace

Guests: Kelley Cruzan, Caleb Thibodeaux

1. Call to Order

Peggy Crabtree called the meeting to order at 5:34 p.m.

2. Public Comments

None made

3. Approve minutes of meeting held December 9, 2021

Becky Kauffman made a motion to approve the minutes of the meeting held on December 9, 2021. The motion was seconded by Michelle Haye. **All ayes.**

4. Consider Certificate of Appropriateness for 101 S. College

Kelley Cruzan distributed copies of the door she would like to use to replace the existing aluminum door on the Main Street side of 101 S. College. The new door is mahogany with glass and will be painted to match existing door facings. Jeff Smith made a motion to **approve** the Certificate of Appropriateness for 101 S. College. Shannon Simpson seconded the motion. **All ayes.**

5. Consider approval of renewal HT tax exemption applications

The following properties were reviewed by the Commission:

409 Bird Lane	204 Brown	803 Cantrell	855 Cantrell
418 N. College	508 N. College	423 S. College	323 Cynisca
211 Ferris	209 W. Franklin	501 N. Gibson	521 N. Grand
103 Greenbrier	104 Harbin	304 Harbin	309 Harbin
310 Harbin	210 S. Hawkins	523 Highland	3203 Howard Rd
409 W. Jefferson	600 W. Jefferson	601 W. Jefferson	1108 W. Jefferson
209 Kaufman	610 Kaufman	616 Kaufman	500 Madison
217 E. Main	604 W. Main	717 W. Main	910 W. Main
1000 W. Main	1001 W. Main	1008 W. Main	1025 W. Main
1030 W. Main	1109 W. Main	309 E. Marvin	323 E. Marvin

621 E. Marvin	1219 E. Marvin	207 W. Marvin	414 W. Marvin
607 W. Marvin	611 W. Marvin	707 W. Marvin	219 Monticello
200 Oldham	305 Oldham	308 Oldham	601 Oldham
201 Overhill	107 Park Drive	232 Patrick	243 Patrick
200 N. Rogers	509 N. Rogers	107 Savannah	707 Sycamore
119 University	120 University	300 University	305 University
204 E. University	300 E. University	219 Virginia	814 Water
113 Williams	•	J	

Glinda Felty made a motion to **approve** the above properties for the 2022 HT exemption. Becky Kauffman seconded the motion. **All ayes.**

6. Consider approval of new HT tax exemption applications

Recommended for approval

107 Chapman Circle	201 Harbin	124 Kaufman	206 La Vista
1300 W. Main	1012 E. Marvin	210 E. University	111 Wilmington

Recommended for denial

1004 E. Jefferson	408 W. Jefferson	209 Penn	102 Savannah
205 University	304 University	1040 Water	

Recommended to table

114 University—question about siding

115 Virginia—when was left side of porch enclosed?

Jeff Smith made a motion to **accept the recommendations** for the above properties for the 2022 HT exemption. Shannon Simpson seconded the motion. **All ayes.**

7. Consider previously tabled HT tax exemption applications

502 W. Main—two new French doors, all new windows

Jeff Smith made a motion to **deny** the application for 502 W. Main. Becky Kauffman seconded the motion. **All ayes.** Two other properties were left on the table pending further investigation.

8. Comments by Commission members and Heritage Preservation Officer

Anita read the summary and recommendations of the THC from the CLG 4-year review report. Peggy told the board the date of the Rotary project at the Chautauqua is Saturday, February 26th starting at 1 pm. They need all the volunteers they can get.

9. Adjourn

A motion to adjourn was made by Glinda Felty and seconded by Becky Kauffman. **All ayes.** Meeting adjourned at 6:51 pm.

Respectfully submitted by Anita Simpson